The Complete OECD Tax Haven Blacklist

, Offshore Banking expert for The Q Wealth Report

Strange as it may seem, given all the hype in the news recently, when I started to search on Google for the blacklist of non-co-operative tax havens and bank secrecy countries published recently by the OECD at the behest of the London G20 meeting, it was mighty hard to find the complete list! Even on the OECD site after visiting multiple pages, I found only a pdf file that by no means makes the blacklist clear.

I suppose I should not be surprised, however – for, as I wrote in my article G20 and OECD: Much Ado About Nothing this whole campaign is more about publicity, distractions and scare tactics than real action against tax havens. The list on the OECD site is obviously the result of a lot of political horsetrading – would you believe for example, after all the recent hype, that the OECD does not list Luxembourg and Switzerland as tax havens? And how on earth did Chile get on the list – did you ever hear anything about offshore banking in Chile? While Hong Kong, a major offshore financial hub,  escaped listing altogether, for fears of upsetting the Chinese.

Here, then, for the record is a complete list of non-cooperative tax havens as published by the OECD, for which I would like to thank the print edition of the Spanish newspaper El Pais dated April 4th, 2009. In fact, there are three lists: the blacklist (countries that ignore foreign fiscal authorities) a grey list (countries that supposedly lack fiscal transparency but have commited to change) and a third list, neither grey nor black, of countries that are “non-co-operative financial centres.”


Costa Rica, Philippines, Malaysia


Andorra, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Bahamas, Bahrein, Belize, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Cook Islands, Cyprus, Dominica, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guernsey,  Isle of Man, Jersey, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Monaco, Monserrat, Nauru, Netherlands Antilles, Niue, Panama, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Seychelles, Turks and Caicos Islands, US Virgin Islands, Vanuatu (Uruguay was oficially added to this list a few days later)


Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Chile, Guatemala, Luxembourg, Singapore, Switzerland

7 thoughts on “The Complete OECD Tax Haven Blacklist”

  1. I do hope the countries that have committed to change will actually do it! It is high time the international agencies had them under check.

  2. The OECD should be exposed for what it really is trying to do: trying to prevent

    its own high-tax cartel from being undermined by other countries offering competition in the form of lower taxation.. how much would you bet that those voicing 'soak the rich' are themselves finding ways to reduce their own taxes- John Kerry (D) who stated that the 'rich need to pay their fair share' found ways to pay 12% income tax, GW Bush (R) an advocate of tax cuts paid 35%, yet Kerry's income was three times that of Bush- what hypocrisy!

  3. Thank you for the info,

    I've been trying to find the black list for ages!

    However, I was wondering why those three lists, black, grey and the third one, contain 87 countries, while in reality there are over 210 on the planet…What about the rest of the countries?

    Thank you!


  4. It is not possible under current tax law for anyone, much less a Bush, to pay 35% of their total income in taxes. Bush may have hit the 35% bracket for a portion of his paycheck as the appointed president of the USA but he was avoiding taxes before the selection by the supreme court and certainly is avoiding taxes now in his retirement.


Leave a Comment